[Visiting] What every Girl wants #denocteontour

At my second visit in London this summer I made sure to step by the brandnew retro and vintage lingerie boutique What Every Girl Wants in Camden.

And I was lucky enough to meet up with awesome company and explore the new shop together: I met the girls behind Undercover Lingerista, Miss Underpinnings and Undressed to Impress. So we first had tea, no, to be honest, first I got completely lost, and Miss Underpinnings got lost too, and poor Laura had to wait for quite some time till we ended up in the same place. We were glad that the weather was fine so she could enjoy some sunshine!

But then off we went!

Amanda, the owner of the shop, knew that I might stop by and she was so happy to tell us a bit about the store and show as around. It is LOVELY. A perfect retro and vintage shop in my opinion.

From left to right: Undressed To Impress, Amanda, Kitty Lingerista, myself, Miss Underpinnings
denocteontour

The shop is located on the first floor in Camden lock and you can easily recognize it by its pink doors! And some lovely lingerie on display, the day we were there a gorgeous set by Playful Promises greeted us.

Playful Promises

Amanda, who used to work for LUSH looking over more than hundred of LUSH cosmetics shops, opened this little gem as an option to provide beautiful retro lingerie to Londoners (and, tourists. I mean, we're in Camden after all.)
She wants to offer retro lingerie without the usual goth edge a lot of retro lingerie has, and in my opinion she succeeded: Her selection is beautiful and diverse! (Though, you know me, I'm ALWAYS IN for goth chique!)

What Every Girl Wants

Brands currently available at What Every Girl Wants are:

As many of you may know, a lot of the retro lingerie brands don't do their styles in bigger cup sizes.
I really love that for that reason Amanda chose to include certain Panache styles in her sortiment: She wants to be able to provide a selection of beautiful lingerie to every customer, no matter what size. For example I saw the Masquerade Persia, the Cleo Juna and the Tango II.

Very intriguing is that Amanda plans to work with a seamstress to offer bespoke pieces and will soon offer Miss Crofton Lingerie! Another London based Lingerie designer :)

Playful Promises, Mimi Holliday, What Katie Did, Kiss Me Deadly

What Every Girl Wants

There is also a box of nice What Katie Did Stockings with seams in an old wooden box on display, right next to the antique cashiers box thingy.
If you want to buy just a little something as a gift or to treat yourself you can also buy the cute Frilly Knickers by Playful Promises, either the month-pinup girl knickers that come in a box or just choose frillies in one of the lovely vibrant colours! (turquoise, people. turquoise.)

What Every Girl Wants 

But a section I really really liked was the rack of vintage slips. amanda really has got an eye for that stuff and next to all the retro lingerie she also sells authentic vintage slips - and there are some real gems hidden. Or, on display. It's a rack full of perlon awesomeness in dusty pink, white and beige!

What Every Girl Wants
I tried one on "just to see how it looks" - and ended up buying it. WELL. But I felt like Grace Kelly! It has got plaits and it's light pink and aaaah so nice! The slips retail between 20 and 30 pounds which is a very reasonable price imo for the quality you get.

What Every Girl Wants

Denocte

The whole shop is just so so lovely. Although it's just one small room there is a small changing area - Amanda put up a beautiful paravent where you can change into your lingerie to be in style!

What Katie Did

What Every Girl Wants

On an old chest of drawers the book which inspired her to name the shop "What every girl wants" is on display:

What Every Girl Wants

And there is also some perfume by Sarah McCartney whom Amanda met during her years at LUSH. I tried on of the perfumes and was very intrigued - I normally am not a very perfume kind of gal, there are two fragrances I ADORE (coco noir by Chanel and Belle d'Opium by YSL) but I loved the scent. It was dark and mystique and - well, I'm no good at describing scents. Plus I don't know which one I tried, SORRY! But if you go there make sure to try it, it's lovely.

What Every Girl Wants

Thank you Amanda for the lovely afternoon, it was so nice to meet you. I'm looking forward to my next visit!

If you are in Camden make sure you stop by, it is really really lovely!

You can stay up to date with What Every Girl Wants on their Facebook Page and soon their website will launch.

xoxo Denocte

Disclaimer:
I received a 50% discount on my purchase of the slip.

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

[Visiting] What every Girl wants #denocteontour

Bei meinem zweiten Londonaufenthalt war ein Fixpunkt der Besuch der ganz ganz neuen Retro und Vintage Lingerie Boutique What Every Girl Wants in Camden.

Außerdem darf ich mich glücklich schätzen, ich bin dort nämlich in toller Begleitung erschienen! Die Mädels von Undercover Lingerista, Miss Underpinnings und Undressed to Impress hatten Zeit und Lust mit mir den Laden zu inspizieren. Also hatten wir zuallererst mal Tee, oder naja, um ehrlich zu sein habe ich mich zuerst mal katastrophal verlaufen. Dann Hat sich Miss Underpinnings verlaufen. Und die arme Laura musste ziemlich lange warten bis wir endlich alle am gleichen Ort waren! Gut, dass das Wetter so schön war, so konnte sie wenigstens in der Sonne warten.

Aber dann gings los!

Amanda, die Besitzerin des Shops, wusste von unserem Besuch und war ganz erfreut darüber, uns etwas über ihre neue Boutique zu erzählen. Und die Boutique ist einfach FAMOS. Der perfekte Retro und Vintage Laden meines Erachtens!

From left to right: Undressed To Impress, Amanda, Kitty Lingerista, myself, Miss Underpinnings
denocteontour

Der Laden ist im ersten Stock vom Camden Market und leicht zu finden - er hat rosarote Türen! Und natürlich hübsche Wäsche in der Auslage oder heraußen. Wir wurden von einem Set von Playful Promises begrüßt:

Playful Promises

Amanda, die früher für LUSH gearbeitet hat und für über hundert Filialen verantwortlich war, hat die Boutique gegründet um den Londonerinnen hübsche retro Wäsche anbieten zu können. (und auch für Touristen, ich mein, immerhin sind wir in Camden.)

Ihr Anliegen ist es, retro Lingerie zu verkaufen ohne den typischen Goth-Einschlag, den Retro Wäsche oft hat. Meiner Meinung nach ist es gelungen: Ihre Auswahl ist wunderschön und so vielfältig! (Obwohl, ihr kennt mich, ich bin IMMER für Goth zu haben ;))

What Every Girl Wants

Momentan gibt es eine Auswahl von folgenden Marken bei What Every Girl Wants:

Wie viele von euch wahrscheinlich wissen, produzieren viele der Retro Marken ihre Wäsche nicht für große Körbchengrößen.
Ich finde es total spitze, dass genau deshalb sich Amanda entschieden hat einige Panache Modelle ins Sortiment zu nehmen: So kann sie eine Auswahl an hübscher Wäsche in einem viel größeren Größenspektrum anbieten! Ich habe zum Beispiel den Masquerade Persia, den Cleo Juna und den Superbra Tango II gesehen.
Sie möchte für jede Kundin, egal welche Größe, etwas anbieten können.

Sehr spannend ist die Idee mit einer Schneiderin zusammenzuarbeiten um auch auf Wunsch Lingerie direkt für die Kundin anfertigen zu lassen. Außerdem wird bald auch Miss Crofton Lingerie ins Sortiment genommen! Noch eine Linie direkt aus London :)

Playful Promises, Mimi Holliday, What Katie Did, Kiss Me Deadly

What Every Girl Wants

Es ist auch eine hübsche hölzerne Box voller What Katie Did Strümpfe direkt neben der alten Kassa.
Und wenn man nur eine Kleinigkeit für sich selbst kaufen möchte oder noch ein Geschenk braucht - Es gibt die süßen Frilly Knickers von Playful Promises: Entweder die Monats Pin Ups in Döschen oder Frillies in bunten Farben! (Türkis, Leute, TÜRKIS.)

What Every Girl Wants

Aber ein Regal das mich besonders beeindruckt hat war das Regal voller Vintage (Unter-)Kleider.
Amanda hat wirklich ein Auge für diese Schätzchen und neben der Retro Unterwäsche verkauft sie auch authentische Vintage Wäsche - und da gibts wirklich ein paar Perlen. Ein ganzer Ständer voller Perlon Liebe in puderpink, weiß und beige!

What Every Girl Wants
Ich habe eines anprobiert "nur um mal zu sehen wie es aussieht" und hab es dann letztendlich doch gekauft. WELL. Aber ich habe mich wie Grace Kelly gefühlt! Es ist plissiert und ganz leicht und rosa und ahhh so hübsch! Die Kleidchen liegen preislich zwischen 20 und 30 Pfund was meines Erachtens ein SEHR vernünftiger Preis ist für die Qualität.

What Every Girl Wants

Denocte

Der ganze Shop ist einfach wunderhübsch. Obwohl es einfach nur ein Raum ist gibt es eine kleine Umkleidekabine - hinter einem hübschen Paravent. Umziehen in style!

What Katie Did

What Every Girl Wants

Auf einer alten Kommode steht auch das Buch, dem der Shop den Namen verdankt:

What Every Girl Wants

Außerdem gibt es noch Parfum zu kaufen by Sarah McCartney. Amanda kennt sie aus ihrer Zeit bei LUSH. Ich habe eins der Parfums probiert und war fasziniert - ich bin normalerweise nicht so der Parfumtyp, es gibt genau zwei Parfums die ich LIEBE (Coco Noir von Chanel und Belle d'Opium von YSL) aber ich habe den Duft wirklich gemocht. Irgendwie dunkel und mystisch und - ach, ich kann keine Düfte beschreiben. Außerdem weiß ich beim besten Willen nicht mehr, welchen ich probiert habe, sorry! Aber wenn ihr vorbeischaut, inspiziert die Parfums. Die sind toll.

What Every Girl Wants

Danke Amandy für den tollen Nachmittag, es war so schön dich zu treffen! Ich freu mich schon auf den nächsten Besuch.

Wenn ihr also in Camden seid, schaut in die Boutique! Es ist einfach wunderbar :)

You can stay up to date with What Every Girl Wants on their Facebook Page and soon their website will launch.

xoxo Denocte

Disclaimer:
I received a 50% discount on my purchase of the slip.