A Trip to: Brasil!

Bra Pirates Logo

When denocte first asked me to write this guest posted I was thrilled that I had another venue to rant (er, I mean share) about the bra situation here in Brazil. However, I was a bit nervous because that meant actually going around looking for bras here. Considering that I wear about a UK 28J, I really didn't know what to expect!

Brazil

Before I get into my shopping trip, I want tell you a bit about Brazil first. We have the 6th largest economy (probably we'll be the 5th before too long here) and it's really a country that's going through some major growing pains. On one hand, it's wasn't that long ago when inflation was so bad that the second you got your paycheck, you'd run to the grocery store to buy your months worth of groceries because you wouldn't be able to afford them by the end of the month. Now 20 some odd years later all the business investors from around the world are coming here because we never experienced the housing crash that has so strongly affected both N. America and Europe. Oil was recently found in Rio de Janeiro and we're also expecting both the Olympics and the World Cup in the next few years.

That's not even mentioning the mass amount of tourism we get for the beautiful beaches and this guy:

Cristo redentor
By Cyro A. Silva (Flickr) [via Wikimedia Commons

There's a lot to love about the country and in many ways it's amazing living in a country with so much movement. You can see the push for more public transportation, the push to weed out the corruption from the government, and the push for including new industries in a safe way that won't overload the economy but still allow for the tremendous growth that we're seeing. But, like I said before, there are the growing pains. Often you see this when it comes to bureaucracy where there's a law that just doesn't make sense in the current economy but you still have to follow it or, and this is what I'm interested in, how behind the times the clothing industry seems to be.

I've waxed on to great lengths on my own blog about the bra sizes here in Brazil. Essentially, cup sizes don't exist here (I know of only three brands that carry bras in cup sizes Hope, Liz, and now Sloggi and they all stop somewhere between D-F... although Liz is now expanding to a G cup). Instead there's an assumption that everyone is a B cup and they just increase the band. So a size 36=28B, 40=30B, 42=32B, 44=34B, 46=36B, 48=38B, 50=40B etc. (36 is the smallest that I've seen so I'm assuming it's about a 28 band but I don't have a 28B around to compare and the size charts are all messed up because some add 4" and some don't). Almost all stores have horrible pictures of very ill-fitting bras in their advertisements (see here and here). So that's the situation here, now on to my shopping adventure. I went to 5 stores, although in two I didn't try on bras because it was so hopeless, but I did get pictures when I could. :)

Marisa

Marisa was my first stop and it certainly had the largest selection with everything from bikinis to basques.

Marisa
Marisa
Marisa
Marisa

However, it only sold bras according to Brazilian bra sizes, so you can just imagine what a disaster it was. Here's me attempting a 46:

Marisa
Marisa
Marisa
Marisa

The cups were WAY too small for me and as you can see the back was absolutely massive, yikes! There were no bra fitters around, just a couple of women at the cash register so no clue what size they would've recommended! Also, the quality was extremely low. Some bras just had one row of hooks and the bands were extremely thin and made of even stretchier material than I'm used to. I quickly moved on.

Marisa
Marisa
Meia de Seda

I have to give Meia de Seda major props for customer service. The attendant was extremely nice and helpful. She gave one look at me in put me in a 46 +6. The cups were more generous, yet, I was still spilling all over the place and the band wasn't as bad (but still significantly too loose). She then moved me into a 48. It was a sort of OK fit in the cups but the band was all the way up to my armpits! So she said that I was a 46 around the underbust and a 48 in the cups, but they didn't have anything to offer me. I have to give her credit for admitting they didn't have my size but there was no checking of the band (which I could've easily fit multiple hands underneath), and there was no comment on how I put on the bra (remembering to scoop all the breast tissue into the cups and trying on the band on the loosest hook first). One of the bras she brought me at the end was GORGEOUS and like I said she was extremely friendly but it's a shame about their selection/lack of knowledge. I didn't get a chance to get any pictures because of the attendant.

Hope Lingerie

Here the bra knowledge was hands down the best but still there was a lot that was missing. Again the fitter was amazingly nice and put me at ease immediately. She even talked to my daughter a bit, who was tagging along. Now, Hope DOES actually carry different cup sizes (going there it looks like they go up to a DD) and it's the brand that Gisele Bundchen is constantly advertising for. Immediately, the fitter explained about the different cup sizes and kept checking in and bringing new bras for me to try. Unfortunately, she never explained how to put on the bra properly (on the loosest hook/scooping all your breast tissue into the cups) and she never checked the band to see how loose it was. She did notice that my back was very small and even commented on that, so I appreciated her noticing that and keeping it in mind. In the end she put me in a 42DD. Eye-balling it, I'd say it looked like a 32FF, possibly G. My breast tissue was enclosed in the cups around the bottom but the band was still too loose and it was a plunge so I had some spillage towards the middle and slight quadraboob. The bra itself was definitely the best quality of all the other bras I tried on and the price reflected it (R$90~$50 USD). It wouldn't be a bad option for someone with less extreme proportions compared to myself but I'd suggest going in knowing your specific size because, like I said, the fit advice wasn't the best.

C&A

Like Marisa, C&A didn't have cup sizes and after seeing this mannequin I didn't even bother (oh, and you can't really see it in the picture but part of her breasts are hanging out the bottom). They also don't have any fitters there.

C&A
C&A
Lojas Americanas

Lojas Americans is pretty similar to Target, Walmart, etc. They actually have probably the most diverse/widest selection and carry the largest number of brands but there are no fitter and no place to try anything on. They carry both bras with cups (from Hope, Liz, and Sloggi) and ones with Brazilian sizes too. Being that they don't have changing rooms I wasn't able to try anything on.

Overall I do have hope that there'll be improvements here in Brazil. Like I said both the fitters really had great personalities, put me at ease and listened to my needs. They just did not have the proper knowledge, which is something that could be fixed with training. However, there has to be a lot of re-education here in Brazil when it comes to fit and why properly fitting bras are important. Of the brands i tried, Hope is probably the most likely candidate for that but they need to expand their size range and train their fitters better on how to check that the bra band is tight enough and how to put on bras correctly. I know some are against using a measuring tape (and I agree with not being too reliant on them) but I think, at least in terms of getting the band measure correct, it would really help out Brazilians.

Because bra knowledge is considerably behind the US (and light years behind the UK and Poland), measuring at least the underbust and going from there would give a better starting point. Especially because often cups can appear like they "fit" when the band is much too big. Now, since going on this shopping trip I have found encouraging news that Liz is expanding their size range to G cups. Additionally, there is a boutique in some of the higher end shopping malls called Loungerie that carries Waocal bras. I haven't had a chance to go there but plan on doing that soon!
Edit: June has added her Review to her Blog now!

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

A Trip to: Brasil!

Bra Pirates Logo

Als mich Denocte gebeten hat diesen Gastpost zu verfassen war ich begeistert, eine neue Gelegenheit zu haben um über die BH-Situation in Brasilien zu schimpfen (ähm, ich meine zu erzählen). Trotzdem war ich ein wenig nervös, denn das bedeutete auch, dass ich wirklich auf BH-Suche hier gehen musste. Wenn man bedenkt dass ich ca. eine UK 28J trage, wusste ich nicht was zu erwarten war!

Brazil

Bevor ich euch von meinem Shopping trip erzähle, möchte ich euch ein wenig über Brasilien erzählen. Wir haben die sechstgrößte Weltwirtschaft (vielleicht auch bald die 5. größte) und das Land ist mitten in den Schwierigkeiten des Aufschwungs. Einerseits war vor nicht allzulanger Zeit die Inflation so schlimm, dass man sobald das Gehalt eintraf in den Lebensmittelladen rennen musste um für einen Monat Lebensmittel zu kaufen, weil man sie sich am Ende des Monats nicht mehr leisten hätte können. Nun, 20 und noch ein paar Jahre später kommen Business Investoren aus der ganzen Welt hierher weil Brasilien der Immobiliencrash nie getroffen hat, der sowohl Nordamerika als auch Europa betraf. Kürzlich wurde in Rio de Janeiro Öl gefunden und in den nächsten Jahren werden die Olympischen Spiele und der Welt Cup in Brasilien stattfinden.

Und nicht zu vergessen den unglaublichen Tourismus, den schönen Stränden und diesem Kerl zu verdanken:

Cristo redentor
By Cyro A. Silva (Flickr) [via Wikimedia Commons

Es gibt eine Menge an diesem Land zu lieben und in vielerlei Hinsicht ist es großartig in einem Land mit so viel Bewegung zu leben. Man kann das Streben nach mehr öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln, das Streben die Korruption der Regierung auszumerzen und das Streben erleben neue Industrien sicher einzubringen ohne die Wirtschaft zu überladen aber gleichzeitig das enorme Wachstum zu erlauben, das wir gerade sehen. Oft merkt man dies wenn es die Bürokratie betrifft, dass es ein Gesetz gibt das zwar keinen Sinn in der momentanen Wirtschaft ergibt aber man muss es trotzdem befolgen, und deshalb bin ich auch daran interessiert wie sehr die Kleidungsindustrier ihrer Zeit hinterher hinkt.

Ich habe schon lang und breit in meinem blog über die BH Größen in Brasilien geschrieben. Grundsätzlich existieren Cup Größen hier nicht. (Mir sind nur drei Marken bekannt die Cupgrößen anbieten: Hope, Liz und nun Sloggi und alle stoppen irgendwo zwischen D und F... Obwohl Liz nun bis zu einem G-Körbchen expandiert).
Anstattdessen gilt die Annahme, jede sei "ein B-Körbchen" und es wird nur das Unterbrustband erhöht. So entspricht eine Größe 36=28B, 40=30B, 42=32B, 44=34B, 46=36B, 48=38B, 50=40B etc. (36 ist das schmälste das ich gesehen habe, ich nehme an es ist ca. ein 28er Band aber leider habe ich keine 28B in meiner Nähe um zu vergleichen, die Größentabellen sind ein Chaos weil manche noch 4" hinzufügen und manche nicht.)
So ziemlich alle Läden haben furchtbare Bilder von sehr schlecht passenden BHs in ihren Werbungen (siehe hier und hier). So sieht also die Situation hier aus, nun weiter zu meinem Shopping Erlebnis. Ich besuchte 5 Läden, obwohl ich in zwei keine BHs anprobierte weil es so hoffnungslos war. Aber ich habe Fotos gemacht wo ich konnte. :)

Marisa

Mein erster Halt war Marisa und sie führten sicher die Größte Auswahl, alles von Bikinis bis zu Basques/Corsagen.

Marisa
Marisa
Marisa
Marisa

Trotzdem haben sie nur BHs in brasilianischen Größen angeboten, ihr könnt euch also Vorstellen was für eine Katastrophe das war. Das bin ich, beim Versuch eine 46 anzuprobieren:

Marisa
Marisa
Marisa
Marisa

Die Körbchen waren VIEL zu klein für mich und der Rückenteil war absolut riesig, oje! Es waren keine Bra Fitter / Angestellte da, nur ein paar Frauen an der Kasse also hab ich keine Ahnung welche Größe mir empfohlen werden wäre! Außerdem war die Qualität extrem schlecht. Manche BHs hatten nur eine Reihe Häkchen und die Unterbrustbänder waren extrem dünn und aus noch stretchigerem Material gemacht als ich es gewöhnt war.
Ich bin schnell weitergezogen.

Marisa
Marisa
Meia de Seda

Ich muss Meia de Seda wirklich Daumen hoch für den Kundenservice geben. Die Angestellte war extrem nett und hilfreich. Sie hat mich nach einmal kurz ansehen in eine 46 +6 gesteckt. Die Körbchen waren großzügiger, trotzdem quoll es überall raus, und das Band war nicht soo schlimm (aber immer noch viel zu locker.) Sie gab mir dann eine 48. Die Größe der Cups war passable aber das Band kam hoch bis zu den Achseln! Sie meinte, ich wäre eine 46er Unterbrust und 48 in den Körbchen, aber sie hätten leider nichts in dieser Größe. Sie hat meine Anerkennung dafür dass sie zugab, meine Größe nicht zu führen, aber es wurde nie das Unterbrustband kontrolliert (unter das ich mit Leichtigkeit gleich mehrere Hände stecken hätte können) und es wurde nicht besprochen wie man den BH richtig anzieht (daran denken das Brustgewebe ins Körbchen zu streichen und den BH zuerst am lockersten Häkchen zu schließen). Einer der BHs den sie mir zum Schluss brachte war WUNDERSCHÖN und wie ich schon sagte, sie war sehr freundlich aber es ist sehr schade, dass die Auswahl nicht stimmt / Wissen fehlt. Ich konnte keine Fotos machen, da die Angestellte immer da war.

Hope Lingerie

Das Wissen um BHs war hier ehrlich am Besten aber immer noch fehlte eine Menge. Wieder war die Fitterin sehr nett und ich fühlte mich sofort wohl. Sie hat sogar ein wenig mit meiner Tocher gesprochen, die mitgekommen war. Hope bietet TATSÄCHLICH verschiedene Körbchengrößen an (es sah so aus als ob sie bis DD anbieten würden) und es handelt sich um die Marke, für die Gisele Bundchen dauernd wirbt. Sofort hat mir die Angestellte alles über die verschiedenen Körbchengrößen angeboten und sah immer wieder nach und brachte mir neue BHs zur Anprobe. Unglücklicherweise hat sie mir nie erklärt wie man den BH richtig anzieht (bezogen auf Brustgewebe/weitester Haken) und sie hat nie kontrolliert, wie locker das Band war. Sie hat bemerkt, dass ich einen sehr schmalen Rücken habe und dies auch angemerkt, ich fand es sehr positiv dass ihr das aufgefallen ist und sie darauf Rücksicht genommen hat. Schlussendlich hat sie mir eine 42DD empfohlen. Vom Sehen her würde ich sagen es sah wie eine 32FF oder G aus. Mein Brustgewebe war unten gut umschlossen aber das Band war noch zu locker, und da es ein Plunge Modell war schwappte etwas Gewebe mittig über und ich hatte auch kleine Brötchen. Der BH an sich war definitiv der qualitativ beste BH den ich anprobiert habe, was sich auch im Preis zeigte (R$90~$50 USD).
Der Laden wäre keine schlechte Option für jemanden mit weniger extremen Proportionen wie mir aber ich würde vorschlagen, zuerst seine Größe zu ermitteln, denn wie ich sagte war die Größenberatung nicht die allerbeste.

C&A

Wie bei Marisa gibt es bei C&A keine Cupgrößen und nachdem ich diese Schaufensterpuppe gesehen habe, habe ich gar nicht mehr anprobiert. (Oh, und man sieht es nicht richtig am Foto, aber es hängt auch ein Teil ihrer Brüste unten raus.) Außerdem gibt es hier auch keine Fitter.

C&A
C&A
Lojas Americanas

Lojas Americanas ist ähnlich wie Target, Walmart, usw. Tatsächlich führen sie wahrscheinlich die größte/unterschiedlichste Auswahl und haben die meisten verschiedenen MArken, aber es gibt keine Fitter und keine Möglichkeit zur Anprobe. Sie führen sowohl BHs mit Körbchengrößen (von Hope, Liz und Sloggi) und welche im Brasilianischen System. Da es keine Umkleidekabinen gab, konnte ich nichts anprobieren.

Insgesamt habe ich die Hoffnung, dass es in Brasilien Verbesserungen geben wird. Wie ich bereits sagte hatten beide Fitter sehr nette Persönlichkeiten, ich habe mich wohlgefühlt und sie haben zugehört was ich brauche. Sie hatten schlichtweg nicht das richtige Wissen, das mit etwas Training jedoch angelernt werden kann. Wie auch immer, es muss eine Menge an Neu-Erziehung hier in Brasilien passieren betreffend Passform und warum passende BHs wichtig sind.
Von den Marken die ich anprobiert habe ist Hope der wahrscheinlichste Kandidat dafür, aber dafür müssten sie ihre Größenauswahl ausbauen und die Fitter besser ausbilden wie man kontrolliert ob das Band sitzt und wie ein BH angezogen wird. Ich weiß, manche sind gegen den Gebrauch eines Maßbandes (und ich stimme zu, dass man sich nicht zu sehr darauf versteifen soll) aber ich denke, wenigstens um die Unterbrustbandgröße korrekt zu ermitteln würde dies den Brasilianerinnen wirklich helfen.

Da das Wissen um BH Sitz sehr stark hinter dem in den USA (und Lichtjahre hinter UK und Polen) liegt, wäre zumindest das Messen der Unterbrustweit als Ansatzpunkt wirklich hilfreich.
Vorallem weil Cups oft sitzen zu scheinen wenn das Unterbrustband viel zu weit ist. Jetzt, nachdem ich auf diesem Shopping Trip war habe ich die aufbauende Nachricht gefunden dass Liz ihr Größenspektrum bis G-Cups ausbaut. Außerdem gibt es eine Boutique, Loungerie in einer der besseren Einkaufszentren die Waocal BHs führt. Ich hatte noch keine Gelegenheit dort vorbeizuschauen aber es ist bald geplant!

Edit: June hat die Review zu ihrem Besuch nun schon online!